Internationally Recognized Occupational Diver Certification

World's Highest Standard Of Occupational Diver Certification

Lifelong Career to Take You Around The World

All certificates of diver competency are issued in accordance with the policies and procedures of the Diver Certification Board of Canada (DCBC), based on the Canadian Standards Association’s Competency Standard (CAN/CSA Z275.4) and Canada’s offshore diving regulations.

The Diver Certification Board of Canada audits and accredits occupational diver training establishments which can provide training which will allow candidates to achieve the competencies described in the Canadian Standards Association’s Competency Standard (CSA Z275.4)


DCBC certificate fees to increase on June 1, 2023

DCBC Certificate fees have been increased only once since our founding in 2003; that increase took place on August 1, 2010.  It is now necessary to increase those fees again.

Click HERE for more details, including a full table of the new fees.

DCBC Launches Bursary for Supervisor Course

Click HERE for further details on how to apply

IMCA Continued Professional Development Scheme (CPD)

DCBC-certified offshore supervisors are strongly encouraged to register for and fully participate in the IMCA scheme.  To do so, click (HERE).



Dr. Phil Nuytten, who was a Canadian entrepreneur, inventor, and pioneer in the field of sophisticated diving equipment and underwater vehicles, has died aged 81.

Dr. Nuytten is widely regarded as one of the pioneers of the modern commercial diving industry and a significant force in the creation of new technology. He created equipment and diving techniques for deep-water diving and technical diving for both the commercial, scientific, and military industries.

In 1979 Dr. Nuytten established Nuytco Research Ltd. specializing in the design, engineering, and production of atmospheric diving suits (ADS), including the iconic Newt Suit, which made it possible for divers to operate safely in demanding underwater conditions and extreme depths.  He also created the DeepWorker micro-submersibles used by Sylvia Earle during the Sustainable Seas Expeditions begun in the late '90s.

Other inventions include a military submarine rescue system which has become standard in nearly a dozen of the world’s navies. He also spent more than 25 years working with NASA on projects involving space and underwater technology.

In 2008 Dr. Nuytten was awarded the Technical Excellence Award at the Canadian Underwater Conference & Exhibition (CUCE) and in 2016 he was appointed an Officer of the Order of Canada, Canada’s second-highest civilian honour.